You are here

Get In Sync: Your syncing questions answered

The rise in remote workspaces and freelancer culture means that ability to access, edit, and collaborate on important documents from anywhere is becoming vital. But the debilitating fear of deleting something important (or something someone else needs) can get in the way. So here’s a primer on everything Dropbox Sync.  

Q: How do I keep my folders up to date anywhere?

A: Your Dropbox folder is like your window into the cloud, so drag everything you want to access 

While your Documents folder is a window to your hard drive, your Dropbox folder allows you to see the files you have stored on the cloud. Any file in that folder uploads to the cloud and is viewable anywhere. Need to access a file wherever? Put it in your Dropbox folder. It will automatically update as you go alter and change it. 

Move your files into the cloud for effortless storage

Q: How do I start or stop sharing my work with others?

A: Shared folders are a way to collaborate. Just like how the Dropbox folder is a window into your files on the cloud, shared folders are a view into someone else’s. They work in two ways:

Providing Access: If you want someone to access your files, simply invite them to your folder. They’ll be able to view, edit and comment on all the files in that folder. This doesn’t provide access to any master folders that this one exists within. Just the folder you’ve shared, and anything inside it. Deleting the folder will mean that it still exists for everyone else – you’ll need to first remove it as a shared folder first. 

Receiving Access: Once you’ve received access to someone elses folder, you’ll be able to alter, download, and change files. However, if you would like to remove the folder from your Dropbox, simply click remove. This won’t delete the file on your collaborators computer – just close your window of access to it.

Granting and receiving permissions for Dropbox sharing

Q: What if I run out of storage space?

A: Working with rich media, and moving, editing, and storing files might quickly chew up hard drive space. To maintain access to your Dropbox files without keeping them on your hard drive, Business users can use Smart Sync.

There are three icons in smart sync to show where your files are:

  1. Online-only: Available, but doesn’t use the full amount of space on hard drive
  2. Local content: Files are stored on the hard drive and in the cloud.
  3. Mixed state: Indicates folders where some things are stored on the cloud, and some on your computer. 

Having files in local content means they’re easier to edit and access, particularly when you don’t have access to the internet. If the files are too large, then storing them online-only will free up space on your hard drive, but keep them available when you need them.  To change the status, just right-click the folder and select ‘change status’.  

The Will It Sync Checklist

Yes, when you:

  •  Add, edit or delete files in ‘Your Dropbox’ Folder’
  •  Edit files in synced or shared folders
  •  Delete files in synced or shared folders

No, when you:

  •  Remove shared folders from your Dropbox
  •  Change file location from Online-only to Local, or the other way around. 

Remember these tips, go forth, and sync.

Tile Image: 
Category: 
Summary (on article page): 
That syncing feeling (noun): the relaxation that comes when all your files are safe, secure, and available anywhere.